There are 45 locks on the non-tidal River Thames, each with its own individual history and unique personality. St. John's Lock is the furthest upstream lock on the River Thames. It can be found near Lechlade. The lock derives its name from a priory which was established nearby in the 1200's, but which no longer exists. The lock was built of stone in 1790. Outside the lock house a statue of Old Father Thames can be found. It was made in 1851 for the Great Exhibition at Crystal Palace, but has had several homes since then and took up residence at St. John's Lock in 1974.
For more information about St. John's lock http://bit.ly/YECmvW
Photo credit: by Bencherlite CC-BY-SA-3.0 via Wikimedia Commons
Posted by Naomi at http://www.cotswoldfamilyholidays.com/