Guest Reviews

Fantastic location for a family celebration

Cotswolds Self Catering Living Area

We stayed in the Daisy Chain to celebrate a grandparents birthday. We were all wowed by the amazing view as we walked into the property. Such a beautiful location and the most well equipped house I have stayed in. The children were kept entertained by the numerous toys, games and dvds on a wet afternoon. Ideal for families with young children as absolutely everything you can think of that you need is there for you to use and beautiful surroundings to explore. We will definitely be revisiting but with a lot less in the car as we know how well equipped the property is. Would definitely recommend. September 2017

Amazingly equipped for families

We stayed in Daisy Chain to celebrate a grandparents birthday and it was perfect. Everyone loved the stunning views over the lake and it was so lovely and peaceful to sit and admire it. The house is amazingly equipped especially for families with a whole range of toys and games for the children as well as many other useful things that save much needed space in the car! We all loved exploring the beautiful surroundings and using the kayak. We absolutely loved our stay and will definitely be returning.  September 2017

A lovely holiday in a beautiful house

Three Generations, six adults and two tiny children, Anna three and William nine months enjoyed a lovely holiday in this beautiful house that contained everything we could wish for. We were lucky with the weather, we didn’t get wet except for Grandma (75) who managed to fall in the lake while getting into the canoe, but gained real Brownie points from daughter and daughter-in-law for carrying on regardless. The children loved the wonderful toys and books. Five of us really enjoyed the Miss Mouse Trail and three enjoyed the Beaver Hunt. Anna spent a lot of time every day on the trampoline, the safest one we have seen. The views across the lake were spectacular. Many Thanks August 2017

A magical pot of gold

What a wonderful week! This is not just a house, it is an extremely comfortable home where we have all been able to unwind and relax. 

 The view is simply stunning, and the house is situated perfectly for the amenities available. Canoeing, tennis, walking, swimming everyday meant that the children (from 8-20!) were never bored.  In the house we rarely found the need for the television (we had two film nights) as reading, playing board games and simply chatting whilst taking in the beautiful view was all that was needed. The children particularly enjoyed their late evening hot chocolates sitting on the balcony.

 Launching the canoe was much easier than we expected, and the close proximity to the house meant our teens could amuse themselves whilst we watched from the balcony.

 Our final evening presented us with a lasting memory of a stunning double  rainbow which not only reflected in the lagoon but ended a couple of hundred metres from Daisy Chain. This house truly is the  we had hoped for.  August 2017

A fantastic week

We spent a fantastic week here at the end of August. Lovely house with a fabulous view of the lake – so relaxing to sit on the balcony with a drink and admire the view.  The house was really well equipped with all you need for a self catering holiday. Our 3 year old loved the great selection of books and toys!

We all loved the outdoor heated pool, and our 9 year old even braved the outdoor plunge pool!  We also made use of the canoe, tennis courts, children’s play areas and we did the miss mouse trail which was good fun.

We would definitely recommend Daisy Chain to anyone looking for a family holiday in the Cotswolds.  August 2017

An amazing family holiday

We had an amazing family holiday in May with our toddler, 4 month old and all of their grandparents! The house has everything you could need and the best equipped kitchen we’ve come across in a holiday home. Chloe, our 2.5 year old, loved all of the toys and Grandma read most books several times (a day!!). The newly done up spa is lovely and our youngest enjoyed a swim. A perfect place to relax and get out and about. Thank you! May 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday

Easter Egg Hunt

I just wanted to start off with thank you for the lovely chocolates and Easter egg hunt box for the children. It was a pleasant surprise on arrival. We have all thoroughly enjoyed our Daisy Chain holiday and would not hesitate to recommend it. This property is very well equipped and Lower Mill Estate has lots for children and adults to do. I personally enjoyed going to the Art Spa every morning for a swim during the adult only times and then later taking the children for a dip too. They have just finished refurbishing the spa which looks amazing and has excellent facilities. 
The whole family 5 Adults 2 teenagers and one 9 year old had an amazing time out in the canoe on Somerford Lagoon so much so we did it a couple of times along with tennis and bike rides and walks around the estate. On Easter Sunday we had an egg hunt which the children loved hunting inside and out for choccy eggs.  It is a great place for hiding eggs with such a large property. Thanks Again. April 2017

Even more scenic than in the photos!

We cannot speak highly enough of our stay at Daisy Chain.  There were 4 of us, including grandmother and a toddler and all generations had enough room in the property to have their own space. Waking up to the views of the lake each morning was definitely a highlight – it is even more scenic than in the photos!

The house was extremely well kitted out for our highly active toddler – a monitor, plenty of toddler cutlery and beakers, high chairs – everything seemed to be taken care of. The toys were excellent and kept our son very busy. We also visited the Spa and had some treatments and in February, had the pool all to ourselves which was lovely.

We spent a few hours walking on the nature trails in the surrounding area and even had a couple of days of sunshine to really make the most of this beautiful nature spot.

Thank you to Naomi for responding so quickly when we had questions whilst staying at Daisy Chain. We would recommend to anyone with or without children who just want to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life! And we are already looking to return during summer.  February 2017

Great holiday

Toys Cotswolds Self Catering

A group of 6 of us (4 adults and 2 toddlers) spent a week in Daisy Chain and had a great holiday. The estate was well equipped for all our needs with the kids enjoying the pools (indoor and out) and playgrounds while we enjoyed the restaurant right next to the playground – perfect for the morning coffee. As for the house, it was well equipped with all we needed. I am very picky about bringing all the bits and bobs for our two year old (almost obsessive) but Daisy Chain had everything, from the cots and high chairs to the unexpected bonuses of baby carriers and a large selection of books. The toy were great – a whole press full of houses, cars, farms, garages etc – after every nap a new toy appeared courtesy of the ‘house elves’ and the 2 boys were amazed!
Fantastic views over the lake greeted us each morning and we used the canoe provided (plus all the life jackets) to explore said lake, and used the BBQ on sunny days and the ducks and swans would come up to see what was happening. Day trips to attractions in the Cotswolds were easy as the most we had to drive to anything was 40 minutes.
Being able of have a pint in the local (20 mins walk) in the evening just topped it off (this also had a garden play area for the kids!) and then sit out on the balcony with a drink watching the sun go down over the lake after the kids went to bed was very peaceful.
So can’t recommend it enough.  July 2016

Well equipped spacious property – wonderful view

Cotswolds Self Catering Master Bedroom

Daisy Chain is the best equipped and most comfortable holiday property we’ve stayed in. It is spacious and laid out over 3 floors so that the 3 generations holidaying could both be together or spend some time relaxing apart. It’s ideally located for trips to Cirencester, Bath, Bourton on the Water and other lovely parts of the Cotswolds. The Lower Mill Estate is quiet and very family oriented and we made good use of the spa. The owner was very helpful in responding to our questions. Would definitely recommend the house!  August 2016

Heavenly

Twin Bedroom Cotswolds Self Catering

Beautiful house, unbelievably well equipped. Felt a million miles away from the day to day drudge. Before we’d even finished the holiday I was figuring out in my mind how we could get back there again soon. A unique holiday experience. My daughter (14) remarked it was better than all the foreign holidays we have been on.  August 2016

We cannot recommend it highly enough

Where do we begin.  When we first booked Daisy Chain we felt, from the research we had undertaken, that it most met what we felt our family needs would be.  It was the first time we had had an extended family holiday so it was very important that each member of the family felt there was something for them from the oldest of 67 years (me, Granny Sue)  to the youngest 17 months old.  We were not disappointed. From the moment we stepped into the house it exceeded our expectations.  There were 10 of us in our party and the house gave us all the space we needed both inside and out.

Waking up to the stunning uninterrupted views over Somerford Lagoon each morning was as much a treat and delight on our last day as it was our first. The house was more than fully equipped in every way imaginable for families with young children and infants.  The children had taken one or two of their own favourite  toys but they were so engrossed in playing with the wonderful range of toys and books provided they hardly noticed or needed their own.  The weather was glorious for the full week enabling us to take full advantage of the beautiful lake and country walks, the children’s play areas, the swimming pools and spa not forgetting the excitement and tranquility of our daily lake outings in the canoe.

It was perfect in every way.  Our children and grand children left before us because of other commitments and all left with a heavy heart wishing they could stay longer. We were joined the next day by a friend who was equally impressed with the house and park as a retreat for adults. Needless to say we are already planning our next visit and cannot recommend it highly enough to any family of all ages looking for the perfect place to be.

Canoeing photo sent by guest. June 2016

An absolutely fabulous week

Canoeing Lower Mill Estate
We had an absolutely fabulous week at Daisy Chain. The setting was superb, something for everyone and the accommodation was excellent, definitely the best we have stayed in. All the things we could have possibly wanted or needed were there. Thank you for providing all the information we required before and during our holiday. I am sure we will be returning in the future.
Canoeing photo sent by guest. June 2016

Another great week at Daisy Chain

Dawn at Daisy Chain

Thank you for another great week at Daisy Chain, so well equipped for our family of 10 ranging from a baby of 9 months, boy of 5, girls of 7 and 8 as well as six adults. We went swimming every day in the lovely Spa, really enjoyed Miss Mouse’s Trail which kept the kids entertained on a 5K walk (wear wellingtons if it has been raining).  The dipping pool is a particular highlight.

We were disappointed not to get round to using the canoe.  All the kids went home much more confident in biking and swimming, all having had a very happy holiday. (Dawn photograph sent by guest) April 2016

Wonderful stay at a fantastic property

We had a wonderful stay. Thank you. We have stayed at Lower Mill many times over the last 7 years and your house was equipped perfectly for our holiday. The views were beautiful and we were lucky one night to see from the balcony a vast gathering of starlings making incredible patterns over Somerford Lake, a real experience for the kids to see! We would love to return to Daisy Chain as it was brilliantly laid out for two families. February 2016 (Sunrise picture taken by this guest while lying in bed!)

Truly amazing time

Just back from a weekend break at Daisy Chain. 5 stars 😄. Naomi is a joy to deal with answering all my question quickly. Daisy Chain is a lovely home full of everything you need: toys, books, information and a stunning view over the lake. The Artspa is the icing on the cake. Truly amazing time. Thank you Naomi x Feb 2016

Lovely lake, great walks, excellent facilities

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay over Christmas 2015 at Daisy Chain. The house was well furnished, clean and had everything we needed for an enjoyable stay, including games and toys for my daughter, and a wonderful view of the lake. The estate is very pretty with the lovely lake, great walks and excellent facilities including the indoor and outdoor swimming pools which we used every day. Naomi couldn’t have been more helpful and even decorated the house for us with lovely Christmas decorations. We would certainly consider a return to the estate and to Daisy Chain in the future.

I cannot rate Daisy Chain highly enough

Canoeing Cotswold Family Holidays

What a wonderful time we had at the Daisy Chain. The rooms were comfortable, the kitchen well stocked with equipment (we really enjoyed the coffee machine!), plenty of books to read, games to play and the most fantastic view across the lake.

So much thought has been given into ensuring that there is something for everyone in the house and we felt well looked after. Our 2 boys (5 & 7) were so excited there was a bunk bed, age appropriate games to play, DVD’s to watch and books to read, not to mention the canoe (that came with life-jackets) which was the highlight of their stay! They also swam in pool, went to the playground and met children of a similar age to play with. We went for a lovely walk around the lakes following a treasure trail set up to entice the kids round – great fun for all ages!

Cotswold Water Park is in a perfect location to visit all the beautiful towns and villages around in the area (and there are many!). There are nice pubs nearby, cream teas to enjoy, pretty walks around the country-side and so much more besides. Daisy Chain was a fantastic base.

I cannot rate Daisy Chain highly enough. I must mention Naomi who owns Daisy Chain and with whom we liaised with from Singapore. Her efficiency and helpfulness made everything so easy and smooth. Nothing was a problem for her and it made our stay so much better as a result. Thanks Naomi. July 2015

Everything was superb

Toys Cotswold Family Holidays

We had an absolutely wonderful time thank you. Everything was superb and the house was so well kitted out for the four under 2.5 year olds we had between us!  All in all we really enjoyed the lake, the pools, the playgrounds and the setting but just being in the house with all those great toys for the kids and the lovely open living space was fun and relaxing enough. We shall definitely return!  Many thanks for having created such a lovely holiday home! June 2015

Gem in the Beautiful Cotswolds

Cotswold Family Holidays

When we checked into this gem each one of our family of 9 had a smile on our faces. I’m a perfectionist, so I really appreciate when I encounter someone who also takes equal pride and pains in achieving high standards. Daisy Chain is truly a superbly equipped, well maintained property and we would highly recommend it to anybody wanting to take a holiday in this beautiful part of England. The owners obviously seem to be themselves using the property occasionally, and that probably explains why it seems immaculately served to visiting guests. The shared heated pool, steam, sauna & gym were icing on the cake and we enjoyed using the facilities, which I must say were maintained to very high standards with a very friendly staff making us feel comfortable. The location of the property overlooking the lake is just breathtaking. We did not have small children with us, but we did see that the property had enough to engage the young ones too. Initially we did find the heating a little cold for our liking and made a quick phone call to the owner Naomi (who lives in another town). She immediately responded by turning up the heating from her location. One car could be parked at the property and another in the spill over parking 2 minutes away. Wished we had stayed longer. Would not even blink once before staying there again in the near future. These are 5 deserving stars I would gladly give away anytime. May 2015

A Wonderful Weekend

We all  had a wonderful weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.  You really  have thought of everything to make it feel like home from home, I could not find anything to fault the house, the location is stunning, in fact I really did not want to leave!!

Breathtaking views

Cotswolds Sunrise
Daisy Chain could not be better located with breathtaking views over the lake. The property is furnished to a high standard and the attention to detail is such that it feels like ‘home from home’. It is off season but it was so quiet and tranquil and provided the perfect opportunity to relax and unwind. We did take short trips to Cirencester and Gloucester but really made the most of spending time in the company of our families and taking walks around the estate. We are most definitely looking to come back again in the future.

Thank you for having us.

We had a fantastic time.

Football pitch

Everyone enjoyed the Astro Turf football pitch and tennis.  We also went swimming every day. We went into Gloucester and visited the Cathedral.  The kids enjoyed the Whispering Corridors and seeing the Cloisters which is in the Harry Potter film.  We went trout fishing which was great fun – caught our tea.  A lovely meal was had in the Baker’s Arms.  Everything was spot on – lovely holiday.  We shall come again.

Stunning Views And Lovely Location

ArtSpa heated outdoor swimming pool Cotswolds self catering

We stayed here for my Mum’s 60th Birthday and it was marvellous. The views are stunning, the house is perfect (rooms on different levels so you can have your own space and more facilities than you could hope for). Very well kitted out for children and adults too. We had lots of fun playing board games and had a wonderfully large dinner table which we all had a lovely meal round. The lady who we booked through was very helpful and has great attention to detail to ensure that your stay is as comfortable as possible. Being able to use the spa and pool free of charge was amazing as it is a stunning spa, with a black tile lined pool and lovely steam room. It is also worth pointing out that it is extremely close to the cottage (literally a few minutes walk) and so it was great to get up and have an early morning swim without too much hassle. We will be returning as everyone said it was one of the best weekends we have had as a family. Thanks Naomi 🙂

Excellent – Would Stay There Again

Kitchen Cotswolds Self Catering

We were 2 families staying for the week over Christmas 2013, we had 4 adults and 4 kids aged 4, 3, 2 and 11 months. The layout of the house worked really well with one family using the bedrooms downstairs and the other upstairs. The house was incredibly well stocked for our needs. The kitchen had a lot of pots, pans, plates and roasting trays (particularly important for our Christmas lunch) and a huge selection of kids plates and cutlery. We really didn’t miss anything, and the oven was big enough for our 5kg turkey! The toys and books for the kids were great, and having the cot, high chair and booster seats was so handy. The location was great, very easy to get to from London, and close to Swindon and Cirencester. We used the indoor pool at the spa a lot, so handy to be able to use that, and I was impressed at how well stocked the cafe/shop was. We managed to do a few walks to local pubs, some very close by that the kids were able to walk to, and having the kids backpack to carry the baby in was so useful We would definitely stay there again. Highly recommend it for families with small kids.

Loved It

Canoe Cotswold Family Holidays

We were a mixed age group and both the property and facilities of Lower Mill estate and spa gave us all plenty of things to keep us occupied. Daisy Chain was gorgeous, well maintained & had everything we could want for a relaxing break. I would have been happy to sit and look at the lake view all day. There was plenty of things to do and we took the canoe out on to the lake & there were plenty of toys provided by the owners to keep the children happy. There were 8 of us and we had more than enough room to spread out and not feel cramped in any way. The surrounding area of Lower Mill provides a lot of pretty Cotswold village charm if you want to venture further afield. There is also the Cotswold water park with a little man made beach within 5 minutes drive and all the main supermarkets about 20 mins away in Cirencester which helpfully all deliver directly to the estate. We stayed for a long weekend and really wish we’d been able to stay longer and will definitely be returning.

Exceeded Our Expectations!

Toys Cotswolds Self Catering

We had a beautiful, relaxing and happy little break at Daisy Chain. Thank you so much. I’m so used to feeling tense on holidays with the kids so I didn’t really go with any expectations but when we got there it was just so perfect, everyone was in such a good mood! It was so refreshing to stay in an area and your home that clearly is designed for families with young ones, but also grown up and tasteful for us once they are asleep!! I think it was the first time we didnt come home and say ” we need another holiday to get over that one!” Wish we had stayed longer but will do next year and would recommend Daisy Chain to all our friends and family.

We All Loved It

Autumn Sunrise Cotswold Family Holidays

With an age range of 2 – 66 years there was something for everyone. Daisy Chain was immaculate, well equipped, comfortably furnished and spacious. Ideal for a family party of ten that included four children who needed room to play and for a grandad who wanted peace to read the paper. Our bedrooms looked out on to the lake and to see the sun rising in the morning was a joy and immediately gave a good start to the day. There was surprisingly plenty to do from a swim in the outdoor pool, followed by a swim in the indoor pool, a play area for the children, long or short walks or a trip into Cirencester. If the ladies wanted some ‘me time’ there was always the Spa or even the Gym for the fit ones amongst us. It was such an ‘easy’ place to stay, no stress, no rush, we will definitely go back.

Fantastic House, Great For Families

Spa Lower Mill Estate

This was a fantastic venue for a weekend break with extended family. The house was very well equipped, especially for travelling with young children. They really have thought of everything and the booking process was very easy. The owners specify what was supplied, which includes many things often not included with a holiday home (handwash, dishwasher tablets etc), which was very helpful. The spa was lovely, we really enjoyed the outdoor pool which was very warm and made swimming a pleasure even in late march! The views of the lake from the house are beautiful.

Loved It

Living Area Cotswolds self catering

Nine of us, from two to sixty-seven, spent a very enjoyable week at this excellent property on the edge of the lake. The boys (2, 4 and 6) had a ball: swimming every day, either at the Spa or at the other outdoor pool, playing football at the footie park or just chilling out at the house which has a great mix of toys, books and games. The adults also had a very relaxing time in a unique environment where other residents were equally relaxed. Recommend an online order for food and drinks as all the major supermarkets deliver to the door. Our second time at Lower Mill and the overwhelming concensus is that we go back again next year!

A Perfect Place For A Family Holiday

ArtSpa heated indoor swimming pool Cotswolds self catering ArtSpa

We stayed at Daisy Chain as a family to celebrate our sons 21st birthday and everyone had a brilliant weekend. Naomi couldn’t have been more helpful and accommodating throughout the whole booking process. The house was lovely, clean,bright and airy – and very well equipped. The kitchen had everything you could have needed, including beautiful serving dishes for our meals. The two youngest members of the group were delighted with the huge selection of toys to play with and the views from the house out onto the lakes were amazing. Daisy Chain is well placed on Lower Mill, as it is a very short walk to both the spa and the general store. The Spa is really luxurious with heated indoor and outdoor pools.

Cotswold Family Holidays Reviews

Metro Social Media